Mascot Blog

What Our Staff is Reading in June

There’s nothing everyone loves more than finding a good book to read on your porch, the beach, or even your couch in the summer. And our staff is no exception. Everyone has been busy diving into new books outside of office hours, and this month we are sharing not only what we are reading but also some of our thoughts on our choices. 

The Power of ConflictOur CEO, Naren, is currently reading The Power of Conflict: Speak Your Mind and Get the Results You Want by Jon Taffer. Taffer believes the key to a happy workplace is to embrace conflict and give it purpose. Though we consider our office to be a constructive and supportive environment, we look forward to Naren sharing Taffer’s toolkit with our staff.

To find out what the rest of our staff is reading, check out the list below.

Acquisitions

Ben didn’t have a theme for the books he read in May, but two of his favorites were A Very Punchable Face by Colin Jost and Billion Dollar Loser: The Epic Rise and Spectacular Fall of Adam Neumann and WeWork by Reeves Wiedeman. So far, he has finished 42 books this year and is well on his way to hitting his goal of reading 100 books in 2022. 

Jess just finished What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding by Kristin Newman, a travel memoir from a television writer that is equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking. Jess related to using travel as medicine and found it bittersweet to read the story post-COVID when travel remains very different. She would recommend it to anyone who is nostalgic about the early to mid-2000s or is a solo traveler looking for empowerment.

Kortney is reading The Last Story of Mina Lee by Nancy Jooyoun Kim for her book club. She has just started and will share her thoughts next month! 

Production

Aditya is reading Burnt Sugar by Avni Doshi, a literary debut about mothers and daughters set in India, and If An Egyptian Cannot Speak English by Noor Naga, a novel about love as a weapon of empire. Hooked Sutton Foster

Gillian is reading the The Summer I Turned Pretty series by Jenny Han, which is about a teenage girl growing up over the course of three summers. Gillian would recommend this series to people who want a quick YA beach read or who like watching TV show adaptations, as the series was just adapted by Amazon!

Jenna is leaning into summer thrillers and recently finished The Golden Couple by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanan, and is currently reading The Wife Between Us by the same authors. She is also currently reading Hooked: How Crafting Saved My Life by Sutton Foster, one of Jenna’s theater idols, who also attended her high school.

Tyler is currently enjoying Homesick For Another World by Ottessa Moshfegh. It is a collection of unsettling (and sometimes depressing or frustrating) short stories. 

Graphic Design

Caitlin is listening to the audiobook edition of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and recommends it! “The characters feel real and authentic, and the story is incredibly eye-opening.” 

David is reading SMASH! Green Day, The Offspring, Bad Religion, NOFX, + the ’90s Punk Explosion by Ian Winwood and says, “If you love ’90s punk, you should definitely read this.”

Matt is reading Scoundrels, Cads, and Other Great Artists by Jeffrey K. Smith and describes it as “almost like the art history version of TMZ.” He’d recommend it to art fans who want to learn more about the drama and wild lives of famous artists.

Marketing

Caitie is reading Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. She would recommend Six of Crows if “you like found families, heists, and a little bit of romance set in a fantasy world. I had a hard time putting this down!” 

book blind dateHeather just finished Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel. This “gem of a novel” weaves literary and speculative fiction together. Next on her list is Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead.

Kat is currently in “research mode” and is reading The Story of Egypt by Joann Fletcher. When she needs a break, she plans to read Once & Future by A. R. Capetta and Cory McCarthy. 

Michelle is reading Just One Look by Lindsay Cameron and The Photographer by Mary Dixie Carter—two “weird, creepy stories about obsession.” She’d highly recommend The Photographer to anyone who’s a fan of disturbing psychological thrillers. “The protagonist is compelling, manipulative, unreliable, and a little unhinged, which I personally love in a book.” This was a page-turner that Michelle had a hard time putting down. 

Sky is reading Alien Virus Love Disaster by Abbey Mei Otis. She bought it recently on a trip to Asheville, North Carolina, where she visited Malaprop’s Bookstore and Alien Virus Love Disaster was a blind date with a book! It ended up being perfect for her trip as the short stories made it easy to read in bits and pieces while she traveled. “The stories are strange, topical, and dark. Recommended for fans of Parable of the Sower, Margaret Atwood, Brave New World.”

Taylor just finished The Diamond Eye by Kate Quinn. This is her fourth book by Quinn, and each read has been just as good as the last. She has a hard time putting these stories down and is constantly encouraging her friends, family, and you to read them. 

Bookkeeping

Alison is reading The Forgetful’s Reminders On Love, Loss, Lunacy & Leaving by Tom Rush. It is a collection of song lyrics and poetry written by one of her friends from college. 

Emily has just finished a book and is looking forward to starting The Book of Cold Cases by Simon St. James! 

Helen is still reading The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien and loving it. She said, “It’s a wonderful story and has great detail. However, Tolkein can be a bit long winded in his descriptions.” And being the tome that it is, she has also started B is for Burglar by Sue Grafton for when she needs a break.



We will see you next month with more books from the office. In the meantime, what are you reading? Leave your answers in the comments here or on social media! You can also see our June reads and past selections in our Bookshop store.
How to Sell Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

*