Mascot Blog

Honoring our Servicemen and Women on National Day of Service and Remembrance

By Emily Evans-Miller

As Americans, we are privileged to live in a nation protected by the brave servicemen and women that fight for our safety both at home and abroad. On this National Day of Service, we would like to honor members of our Mascot family who have served or honor those who do through their work. From military veterans to police officers and firefighters, we are grateful for all that service men and women do and are grateful to have the opportunity to bring their stories to life.

ABCs of the Air Force

By Richard Lee Marsh

For over 70 years, the United States Air Force has been serving the military and civilians alike. Author Richard Lee Marsh served in the Us Air Force for 34 years as a civilian, contractor, and a member of the Air National Guard. If you’ve ever wondered what lies in the wild blue yonder or said the word “ZULU”, this book is for you. Follow along and learn even more about this exciting branch of the military.

The ABCs of the Army

By Maria Cordova

Although Maria Cordova was raised a Navy Brat, her active-duty Army husband, Chris, and her two daughters inspired her to write all about the largest branch in the United States Armed Forces in The ABCs of the Army. You’ll learn what it takes to be in the Army while learning your ABCs too! From basic combat training to the Old Guard, this book offers fun for young readers and members of the Army alike.

Connor the Cutter Series

By Scott McBride and Rodger Thompson

Connor the Cutter is one of our most beloved children’s series. Saving Sarah, Caution at Calamity Canal, and Mystery of the Baffling Blackout follow the adventures of Connor the Courageous Cutter and his seafaring friends. An active-duty member of the Coast Guard and father of two boys, Scott McBride felt called to share fun and exciting faith-based stories with good moral messages to both adults and children. His stories focus on things he truly loves: the Lord, boats, and the sea. Rod Thompson currently serves on Active Duty in the US Navy, with fifteen years of honorable service. Rod writes stories that feed the soul and occasionally pass down valuable life lessons to his three sons.

Countdown ‘til Daddy Comes Home and Countdown ’til Mommy Comes Home

By Kristin Ayyar

An Air Force spouse for 27 years and the mother of three children, Kristin Ayyar knows firsthand how difficult it is to be away from loved ones in the service. Countdown ‘til Daddy Comes Home and Countdown ‘til Mommy Comes home tells the stories of families dealing with physical separation and the rituals and traditions that help them stay connected and make the time fly by.

Enemy in the Wire Cover

Enemy in the Wire

By Andy Symonds with Navy SEAL Chris McKinley

Written by Andy Symonds, the child of a Navy family, and Chris McKinley, former Navy SEAL, this riveting military thriller gives the reader an up-close, behind-the-scenes look at the elite SpecOps brotherhood and how they operate. In the vein of American Sniper and Lone Survivor, the heart-racing action sequences in Enemy in the Wire could only be relayed by a real Navy SEAL.

Fern Majestic

By James Stevens

James H. Stevens is a US Army disabled veteran who combined his firsthand experience in the military and his lifelong love of fantasy in a tale magic, loyalty, and friendship. Fern Majestic leads a solitary life as a blacksmith in the Kingdom of Loustof, his family name declared traitorous by the king. But when Fern is arrested by the king’s counselor for allegedly murdering the king’s pet dragon, he must fight for his survival in the dungeons of Loustof and soon learns his true test. The King’s son Timal, the heir to the throne, has gone missing in the Crags of Malice west of their kingdom. With Mallock as his guide, Fern must rescue Timal and bring him safely home, all the while battling a series of conspiracies and carrying the burden of his shrouded past. The fate of Fern’s world lands solely on his shoulders, and he must choose to save his newfound friends or sacrifice his world to the rule of evil.

Go Army! Beat Navy!

By Kathy Borkoski

Kathy Borkoski is a 2001 graduate of the US Naval Academy and served as a Navy Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) officer. She loved the Army-Navy game so much she wrote Go Army! Beat Navy!, a rhyming children’s sports and recreation book dedicated it to her parents, Don and Sue Borkoski, who met in bootcamp and served as exceptional role models.When Army and Navy step on the field, each team does its best to defeat its biggest rival. Go Army!

Is Your Dad a Pirate? Cover

Is Your Dad a Pirate?

By Tara McClary Reeves

Her daddy went away to fight for our country. And he came home changed.
What’s a young family to do when a parent is injured? How might they respond to curiosity? In this tender account based on her childhood experiences, author Tara McClary Reeves shares how her family adapted to the extensive physical losses her father, Marine Corps Lieutenant Clebe McClary, sustained.With warmth and humor, this book encourages children and spouses facing similar trials to cherish the gift of family, to hold on to fait,. and to choose to be loving heroes on the home front. Is Your Dad a Pirate? will challenge your perspective and deepen your commitment to love.

JFK: The Last Speech

Edited By Neil Bicknell, Roger Mills, and Jan Worth-Nelson

Bicknell, Mills, and Worth-Nelson, among a group from the 1964 class of Amherst College worked together to commemorate war hero and 35th President of the United States John F. Kennedy. JFK: The Last Speech explores the dramatic relationship between two seminal Americans—President John F. Kennedy and poet Robert Frost—which reached its tragic climax in a surprising encounter with Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev at the height of the Cold War. Born out of these events is Kennedy’s remarkable speech about poetry and power, which alters the life course of a group of Amherst College classmates who witness this compelling address and continue to exemplify in their contemporary lives a portrait of the challenges facing America.

Kentucky Barracuda

By Joe Goodbody

Retired United States Army Colonel and corporate leader Emmet Joseph (Joe) Goodbody Jr. spent years researching the mischievous con man that lead his great grandfather on a wild goosechase for gold in California. Parker Hardin French was a  notorious scoundrel in his time but has since been relegated to a minor footnote in American antebellum and Civil War history. Through his research into primary sources, Joe Goodbody pieces together a picture of Parker Hardin French as he lived and schemed, bringing him out of the shadows and into the spotlight.

Super Mom and Dad: Military Heroes!

By Seth Waltman

In honor of his own dad, Seth Waltman wrote an adorable board book to teach children about what military moms and dads do. They’re heroes to a lot of people, but they’re superheroes to their families!

Thomas Sweatt: Inside the Mind of DC’s Most Notorious Arsonist

By Jonathan Riffe

For 25 years, serial arsonist Thomas Sweatt terrorized neighborhoods throughout the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. When at last he was arrested in 2005, he confessed to over 340 arson-set fires that claimed the lives of four people. Through years of research and combing through several hundred letters written by Sweatt, firefighter Jonathan Riffe has put together this in-depth, never-seen-before biography of the man named the “most prolific and dangerous serial arsonist in American history.” Riffe’s time as Lieutenant with the Washington, D.C. Fire Department, Chief of the Huntingtown Volunteer Fire Department, and as an instructor with the University of Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute uniquely situated him to write this portrait of a serial arsonist who turned the district upside down.

Walking A&P

By Karol Nielsen

Her father was part of the 101st Airborne Division during the Vietnam War. Now, 40 years later, Karol Nielsen–a decorated journalist, essayist, and poet–travels to Vietnam to retrace her father’s footsteps. This is a touching, and inspirational story about one man’s journey through one of the darkest times in world history.

 

We’re proud to have published so many servicemen and women’s books over the years and to have the honor of sharing their stories with readers nationwide. If you are currently serving, are part of a military family, or are a domestic public servant, be sure to comment, tweet, or tag us with your cover using  #MascotServes so we can thank you and show your title some love.

From all of us at Mascot Books, thank you to all those who have served and sacrificed for our communities, our country, and the health and safety of our citizens.

How to Sell Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

*